How to change your name after marriage in Texas
The order matters: your marriage certificate, then Social Security, then your Texas license, then everything else. Here is each step, with what DPS asks for and a link to every official page.
Official pages checked November 3, 2026 · By the WedStay team · Sources listed below
Free guide
Your Texas name change, in order
- Steps
- 6
- License update
- In person
- Do it yourself
- Free, apart from the agencies’ own fees
- Or a done-for-you kit
- $49.99 to $129.99 (HitchSwitch)
Step 1: Order certified copies of your marriage certificate
Agencies want an original or certified copy, not a photocopy. Ordering more than one lets you mail one while you keep another for office visits.
- In Texas: County clerk in the county that issued your license. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- Certified copies of marriage licenses are only available from the county clerk. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Step 2: Update Social Security first
Request a replacement card with your new name. Depending on your situation you may be able to finish online, or start online and bring your documents to a Social Security office or Card Center within 45 calendar days. Otherwise, fill out Form SS-5 and visit an office. Many state licensing offices check your new name against Social Security’s records, so this comes before your license.
- Bring proof of the name change (your marriage document), proof of identity such as your current driver’s license, and proof of U.S. citizenship such as a U.S. birth certificate or passport. Social Security accepts originals or copies certified by the issuing agency, never photocopies or notarized copies. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- The new card arrives by mail 5 to 10 business days after Social Security completes your request. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Step 3: Update your driver’s license or state ID
Your license comes from Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), Driver License Division. Bring your current license and a certified marriage certificate.
- Visit any driver license office with an original document showing the change. Copies are not accepted. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- Visit a driver license office within 30 days of the change. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- For a marriage name change, DPS accepts your marriage license or a Department of State Health Services marriage verification letter. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Not stated on the official pages we read. Check with Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), Driver License Division for the fee (official page, opens in a new tab).
Step 4: Update your passport
The form depends on how recently your passport was issued and when your name changed.
- Passport issued less than a year ago, and your name changed within that year: mail Form DS-5504 with the passport, an original or certified marriage certificate, and one photo. There is no fee, apart from $60 if you want it expedited. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- More than a year since the passport was issued or since your name changed: if you can renew by mail (Form DS-82), include a certified copy of your marriage certificate. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- Not eligible to renew by mail: apply in person with Form DS-11, using a valid ID in your new name and the marriage details section on page 2. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Step 5: Banks, payroll and cards
Each bank, card issuer and employer has its own process. Ask what they need, and have your new ID and a certified copy of your marriage certificate ready.
Step 6: Everything else
Vehicle title and registration, insurance, voter registration, utilities, your lease or mortgage, subscriptions, and travel and loyalty programs.
Texas name change rules at a glance
Your license comes from Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), Driver License Division (official page, opens in a new tab). Everything below comes from official Texas pages. Where a page did not say, we say so instead of guessing.
- Where to update your license
- In person. Visit any driver license office with an original document showing the change. Copies are not accepted. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- Deadline
- Visit a driver license office within 30 days of the change. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- License fee
- Not stated on the official pages we read. Check with DPS. Texas official page (official page, opens in a new tab)
- After Social Security
- Not stated on the official pages we read. Check with DPS. Texas official page (official page, opens in a new tab)
- Certified marriage certificate copies
- County clerk in the county that issued your license. Certified copies of marriage licenses are only available from the county clerk. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
- Good to know
- For a marriage name change, DPS accepts your marriage license or a Department of State Health Services marriage verification letter. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Optional: a kit that fills in the forms
Every step on this page is free to do yourself, apart from the agencies’ own fees. If you would rather not hunt down each form, HitchSwitch sells name change kits with the forms filled in for your state and instructions for each one.
A kit does not file anything for you. You still sign and submit the forms, and any visit your state requires in person still happens in person.
Print at Home$49.99
Pre-filled forms and step-by-step instructions to download and print. Printer required.
Full Service$79.99
The same forms mailed to you in a folder, with pre-stamped envelopes.
Platinum$109.99
Full Service plus passport photos delivered and priority email support.
Platinum Plus$129.99
Platinum plus more envelopes and passport photos.
HitchSwitch prices as listed on its site on November 3, 2026. Prices can change. Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Texas name change questions
What do you change first after marriage in Texas?
Start with certified copies of your marriage certificate, then Social Security. Your Texas license comes after that, then your passport, banks and everything else.
Can you change your name on a Texas driver’s license online?
No. In Texas the name change on a driver’s license is done in person. Visit any driver license office with an original document showing the change. Copies are not accepted.
How long do you have to change your name on your Texas license?
Visit a driver license office within 30 days of the change.
Where do you get a certified copy of your marriage certificate in Texas?
County clerk in the county that issued your license. Certified copies of marriage licenses are only available from the county clerk.
Do you need a name change kit?
No. You can do every step yourself, paying only the agencies’ own fees. A kit such as HitchSwitch ($49.99 to $129.99) fills in the forms for you, and you still submit them and make any in-person visits yourself.
Sources, checked November 3, 2026
- Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), Driver License Division, name change
- County clerk in the county that issued your license, marriage records
- Social Security Administration, Change name with Social Security
- Social Security Administration, How do I change or correct my name on my Social Security number card?
- Social Security Administration, U.S. Citizen: Adult Name Change on Social Security Card (EN-05-10513)
- Social Security Administration, Form SS-5 (Application for a Social Security Card)
- U.S. Department of State, Change or Correct a Passport
- HitchSwitch, name change packages and prices
General information, not legal advice
WedStay is not a law firm or a government agency. This page is general information, not legal advice, and it does not create an attorney client relationship.
Agencies change their forms, fees and rules. Each fact here links to the official page it came from. Check that page, or call the agency, before you go.
Kit prices and contents are set by the company that sells them and can change. Check its site for current details.
Official pages last checked November 3, 2026.